30-Day Healthy Living Challenge: Day 6

I hope you enjoyed your rest on Day 5 because it’s now time to pick up with another awesome eating challenge.  It’s a bit nerdy how excited I get about these challenges, but I really do love today’s challenge (ha)! I guess it goes to show that I really do love nutrition and health, and it makes me super happy to teach you how to live a healthy life.

Don’t forget: Follow along with as many Challenge Days as possible and let me know that you did by either commenting on my blog, Tweeting (@nutritionalanat) at me, posting a picture to my Instagram (nutritionalanat), or writing on my Facebook page. I will randomly select a winner to receive 3 nutrition counseling session or cooking classes.

(And I changed up the graphic today!)

day 6

Day 6 Challenge: Build A Healthy Plate

Do you remember the food pyramid? I ask this to almost every one of my clients. What always leads me to this question is that people are always confused about portion control and how much of each type of food (carbs, protein, fats) they should eat.  The food pyramid isn’t really used anymore, and the USDA created this new tool called “My Plate”. It looks like this, and I absolutely love this tool:

My Plate is a functional guide that shows how much of each type of food to eat at each meal.  The Day 6 Challenge is to build a healthy plate, following the “My Plate” guide, at each meal.  For breakfast, try some fruit, a piece of toast and eggs.  For lunch, try half a turkey sandwich with a salad or a vegetable soup with a side of quinoa.  At dinner, build the plate exactly as shown.  Fill half the plate with a roasted veggie, then add some marinated chicken, fish, or tofu and brown rice, quinoa, lentils, or other whole grain.  These are obviously just examples of what you can eat, but use this plate as your guide…and stick to a one medium sized plate serving.  

Like I said before, I’m really excited for you to try using this tool.  Eating a well balanced meal can lead to less overeating later in the day. Let me know how it goes!  

One thought on “30-Day Healthy Living Challenge: Day 6

Leave a Reply

