30-Day Healthy Living Challenge: Day 9

Are you sore from yesterday? I know I am. I don’t do abs or glute workouts as often as I should.  They are especially important muscles for runners, so I need to make sure I incorporate that workout at least once per week.  Don’t hate me, but today is another fitness challenge.  I promise that tomorrow will be a rest day though!

A reminder:Follow along with as many Challenge Days as possible and let me know that you did by either commenting on my blog, Tweeting (@nutritionalanat) at me, posting a picture to my Instagram (nutritionalanat), or writing on my Facebook page. I will randomly select a winner to receive 3 nutrition counseling sessions or cooking classes.

day 9

Day 9 Challenge: 10,000 Steps

I got a Fitbit Surge for Christmas, and I’m pretty obsessed with it.  I wanted it because it has GPS, so it can track my speed and distance while I’m running.  But since it’s a Fitbit, it also has a step counter. The American Heart Association and Center for Disease Control suggest getting 10,000 steps a day for disease prevention.  Guess what! Today’s challenge is to get 10,000 steps.

Obviously not everyone has a  Fitbit, but almost everyone has a cell phone with GPS capability. Iphones have health apps that automatically track your steps. My Fitness Pal is also a popular free app that has a step tracker. I’m sure you carry your phone around with you everywhere, and I encourage you to do so for the day.  Make sure you keep your tracker on you even when you are just walking around your home. I think you will be surprised how many steps it takes to get to 10,000.  Hopefully this enlightens you and makes you move around a bit more in your daily lives.

Tell me what you think of this challenge! Was it hard to get to 10,000 steps?

 

One thought on “30-Day Healthy Living Challenge: Day 9

Leave a Reply

