30-Day Healthy Living Challenge: Day 27

I’m very sad to say that I’m flying back to New York today.  We had an amazing time in California, and this is the first time I have wished for my flight to be delayed/cancelled. I’m now plotting ways to start my own nutrition business, so I can be bi-coastal…stay tuned for more on that once this challenge is over. 

 
Did you have a hard time eating 5 cups of fruits and veggies per day? I know that I sometimes struggle with it if I don’t have a salad for lunch. Today’s challenge looks at another food group that is often demonized. 

  
Day 27: Don’t Be Afraid Of Healthy Fats

Here, I posted a picture of a latte with whole milk. The question of non-fat versus full-fat dairy has been prevalent in the media recently. A recent scientific review found that people who eat full-fat dairy are no more likely to develop cardiovascular disease and type 2 diabetes than people who stick to low-fat dairy. Researchers also found that full-fat dairy may be better for those trying to lose weight. Sounds counterintuitive, right? Well, some argue that the fatty acids in full-fat dairy may help you feel fuller sooner and stay fuller longer, which means you will eat less. I think more research needs to be done on full fat dairy, but there are some other healthy fats that have been proven beneficial to health. 

Omega-3’s and omega-6’s are fatty acids that are extremely good for your health.  These fatty acids have been found to boost heart health and cognition…and they are only found in fatty foods.  Today’s challenge is to embrace these fatty foods and add them to your diet:

  • Fatty fish, such as salmon and mackerel
  • Olive oil, canola oil, and vegetable oil
  • Nuts
  • Avocados
  • Flax
  • Hemp

Don’t be afraid of these higher calorie items.  They are good for you and should be part of a healthy diet!

3 thoughts on “30-Day Healthy Living Challenge: Day 27

Leave a Reply

